//
you're reading...
Uncategorized

My Apple Store Conversion

My iPhone got confused. Probably by the weird electricity in my house. Because it got confused just as my Mom was calling and the battery was at red zero and using push with Google Sync had been pulling my battery down a lot – I assumed. I assumed the battery on my two year old iPhone was dead and wouldn’t be coming back. That’s what I told the front line people at AT&T and they agreed with me. I was upset. So they sold me a new phone but I was determined not to go through that again. I loved my iPhone. A lot. So I got another phone with a user replaceable battery.

A few weeks later, I had to take my Mom to the aiport in Jackson, MS. I decided to take my dead iPhone to the Apple Store in Ridgeland, MS to see if the “Genius” bar could fix my iPhone.

I went in. I was rude. I kept reminding the young lady “Twiggy” that waited on me, that I had paid $500 dollars for the phone (actually I think I paid $400). She took me to the back. Tried a couple of things. Then got the Apple Store “Genius” Brandon. He put a vulcan death pinch on my phone. Hooked it up to the Genius Bar Macbook and 8 minutes later handed me my iPhone with a spare screensaver they had.

I was in awe.  Not so much that he had fixed it, but there was no charge and they treated me great.

I went back to AT&T and explained that if I had to have a new contract, I wanted a new iPhone, so I upgraded my phone to the 3Gs. It’s a great phone, and a great tool.

I went back to the Apple Store (I had to pick up Mom) and bought a case for it. They put it on for me and hooked me up with some replacement headphones (I was using the ratty originals).

It occurred to me afterwards that while I had paid more than the lowest price for things, the costs had been way offset by the experience. I walked out of that Apple Store feeling like their most important customer even though I had bought next to nothing.

Even the bag they gave me was classy in it’s own way.

Later that night I realized, Apple doesn’t cost more, it costs about what it should if you want good service, if you want to go to the store and learn how to use it, if you want support for it. If you want a good customer experience and not something for nothing Apple is the real deal.

So, the more I thought about it, the more I thought maybe I should go back to the Mac side of things.

I have a Mac Mini that I use for compatibility but it’s not my primary machine. Now it is.

I don’t want something for nothing anymore and I don’t want nothing for something.

I want to pay and receive a great customer experience. I want to buy my music so the musicians will get paid. I want to rent or buy the movies so Hollywood  will make great movies. I also want to see other content streams get monetized.

So I’m a Mac again. After beginning as a Mac, and becoming a PC for work – I’m back.

I have to say it feels pretty damn good.

About xackr

Xacking is zenhacks through tech (preferably) lo-cost hi-perf tech. Bootstrapping yourself to rockstar status without breaking bank or stones. I started the idea of xacking as being a way to carry flash drives around with all your key stuff. Now you can stick a computer on a stick. I've since drunk the Apple Kool-Aid and explore bang for buck when the initial buyin is HIGH but quality. The secret? Make it last a long time.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

