//
you're reading...
Uncategorized

If there is a winner in the Google – Apple war who would you miss most?

Seriously.

I realize that the Google-Apple war is a war between freinemies and most of the battles are sensationalistic blog posts by flamebaiters. In other words, the war is more about perception than reality.

For a second though let’s say it’s an all out war. A caged death match. At this point, right now, who would you mourn the hardest? I honestly don’t think Google can take Apple, they are too new in too many areas where Apple has YEARS and YEARS of experience – mainly hardware and operating systems. The Outlier rule says they have a bit to go before they can claim mastery.

So realistically, they stand much more to lose in a protracted battle with Apple. I love Google search but if I had to use Zoho, or iWork.com, or even Office Live for cloud documents – Google Docs wouldn’t be hard to replace. Google Voice is a handy novelty really since I have a phone with voicemail. As an iPad adopter I’ll probably never run Chrome OS on a platform. Wave? I can’t remember the last time I even logged in. Watching someone else type is interesting for about..um…3 minutes. Don’t want a Google phone.

So obviously if they announced tomorrow that Google was shuttering the building, I’d be amazed but unphased. Worst part would be maps.google.com. I would really miss maps.

I know how the other way feels since my iPhone had what turns out to be a minor malfunction and AT&T told me it was dead. I was devastated. I used it between 2 and 4 hours a day. It was integrated into my life. I’m pretty sure by this time next week I’ll feel the same way about my iPad. The weight of my bag has dropped to about 2 pounds. That feels great. I can create and share documents on iWork.com. There are some things it won’t do – ran into an odd hiccough on eBay but so far done a lot of stuff.

The bottom line is these bloggers who are fanning the flame of the imaginary war are doing us all a disservice. The perfect world would be Apple and Google continue to work together. Google stay in its space and Apple – well – Apple didn’t start this mess so they just need keep on keeping on. Most of their volleys have been responses not preemptive.

Bottom line is we all lose if we perpetuate this imaginary war in the blah-gosphere. Already developers have lost a revenue stream due to ad blocking.

Bloggers should write about the facts and not sensationalize or distort things.

We need everybody to get along.

About xackr

Xacking is zenhacks through tech (preferably) lo-cost hi-perf tech. Bootstrapping yourself to rockstar status without breaking bank or stones. I started the idea of xacking as being a way to carry flash drives around with all your key stuff. Now you can stick a computer on a stick. I've since drunk the Apple Kool-Aid and explore bang for buck when the initial buyin is HIGH but quality. The secret? Make it last a long time.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

