//
you're reading...
Uncategorized

Wow, I shouldn’t have ignored the iPod Touch

iPod touch 2G

Image via Wikipedia

Sold my iPhone4. Not because of problems. Just a good opportunity so I took it. Didn’t mind my cell phone bill dropping $50 a month ($80 if you include the iPad I sold to

o). Yeah I sold all my iStuff.

My wife has my old 3GS so she can still get her tap-tap fix. I got nothing.

I decided I didn’t really need 3G because just about everywhere I am has WiFi. All I really wanted was something like the old Palms that let you add something to your todo list, your calendar, or check an email and then sync when you got someplace that had netricity.

Then I remembered. What about the iPod Touch? It’s sort of like a Palm except it’s also designed for games. Check and it had all the productivity apps. So I ordered a reconditioned one from Apple. I got the 32G 3rd Generation (not 3G) for $249.

Came the next day (I must live near the warehouse).

Wow. It was perfect. Lighter than the phone. Seemed as fast as the iPhone4, and the screen looked pretty good. Synced it and put about 90% of my most used apps on it and I was back in the land of instant tapiness.

Word is next month there will be a new iPod Touch with camera, a front facing camera, and more RAM. I may have to put some money aside for one of those. With a decent camera and Skype my wified world will make it hard to feel iPhone envy.

Check out the Touch. It’s pretty damn sweet when you need a PDA these days.

About xackr

Xacking is zenhacks through tech (preferably) lo-cost hi-perf tech. Bootstrapping yourself to rockstar status without breaking bank or stones. I started the idea of xacking as being a way to carry flash drives around with all your key stuff. Now you can stick a computer on a stick. I've since drunk the Apple Kool-Aid and explore bang for buck when the initial buyin is HIGH but quality. The secret? Make it last a long time.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

